Ginger Spiced Hot Chocolate and “Star Crossed Lovers”

I’ve been feeling rather nostalgic all morning since listening to Pepper Adams play the baritone saxophone.. It’s made me miss my baby.. Unfortunately this whole time since I’ve been home, my horn’s been in the shop.. so, I can’t wait to get it back tomorrow and get back to it. In the meanwhile, I made something super warm and comforting to go along with an incredibly beautiful melody by Duke Ellington, ♫”Star Crossed Lovers”. Here’s my recipe for ginger spiced hot chocolate and a homemade cinnamon whipped cream.

What you need:

  • 4 cups milk (any type your prefer- I used whole)
  • 1 cup chocolate, chopped from the block (combination of dark and semisweet for me- but use whatever kind you like)
  • 1 1/2 tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cardamom powder
  • 1/4 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (or nutmeg powder)

For the whipped cream:

  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

In a medium stock pot over medium heat, heat milk, stirring occasionally. Once hot, whisk in chocolate. Then, whisk in ginger, cinnamon, vanilla, cardamom, and nutmeg. Whisk until smooth. Set aside. In a stand mixer, mix heavy cream and the cinnamon until the whipped cream creates soft to medium peaks. Pour hot chocolate in your favorite mug, top with the whipped cream and enjoy!

IMG_2688IMG_2695

Leave a Reply

