Where’s the guac, Mexico!?

The first stop in Mexico was Monterrey. A whole bunch of us went out for Mexican food and we got some serious guacamole, churros, and tacos. Guacamole was the number one on my list. Mmm mmm mmm was it good!

20130925-144352.jpg

20130925-144408.jpg

20130925-144426.jpg

20130925-144440.jpg

20130925-144453.jpg

20130925-144517.jpg

20130925-144543.jpg

20130925-144556.jpg

20130925-144605.jpg

After an amazing show last night we packed up and got up for another very early lobby call this morning and took the one hour flight to Mexico City!
20130925-144529.jpg

While waiting for our rooms to be ready, Crystal and I headed across the street to get some more tacos and guac. You know, I really do learn something new everyday on the road. It's a beautiful thing. While we were sitting there eating lunch a woman came up to us asking us for pesos.. Me being the New Yorker that I am habitually just said "no, lo siento".. Crystal looked at me and asked if I'd be alright with letting her sit with us for a meal.. So I said… "Well.. okay". Turns out, I made a new friend today, thanks to Crystal.
Her name is Juana. She is 58 years old and has 10 children, 7 still living and 2 died from leukemia, and 1 from asthma. She's only been in Mexico City for 20 days staying with her uncle, just walking around the streets asking for change, because she actually makes more money doing that than actually doing her job back in the town that she's from which is in the countryside outside of Mexico City. She said that her family actually doesn't speak spanish, but rather they speak Mystico (spelling). She says she comes from an indigenous people that live in the country side, and more than anything she would like to come to the states and work there, doing laundry, cleaning houses, or something of that nature. Then I realized how difficult it is for a person in her position to get papers to move to the states, without having to actually marry an American. Then it really made me think, how many other people are in her position? A position in which they are between a rock and a hard place, living in a rough neighborhood, not really able to make enough money to even survive off of never the less try to save up enough money to somehow get to the states.
It really makes you think. I’m grateful to have met Juana today and grateful for my very gracious friend, Crystal for that opportunity.

On a not so heavy note.. Since coming to Mexico City, Mr. Bear has made a friend (I found him in the hotel room) and his name is Panchito.

20130925-184935.jpg

3 thoughts on “Where’s the guac, Mexico!?

  1. I really admire your friend Crystal for inviting the woman to sit with you for lunch. I have lived in Mexico City, in fact the same neighbourhood that you were in (Polanco) for 3 years, and not once did that ever cross my mind, I am almost certain I know exactly which woman it is as well, as she is constantly outside the hotels begging (I just left Mexico last week…and judging by Mr. Bear’s new friend I was in the same hotel as you for our last few days!). Amazing what you can learn from people if you just take the time!

Leave a Reply

