Rock in RIO!

Thank you for being showing such love and support, Belo Horizonte! You sent me home smiling after the show. Unfortunately, we had a very early wake up call to go on to our next city, Rio! No matter how little sleep I got, I was still so excited to explore Rio! I was determined to go see the statue of Jesus Cristo but that’s when my little sleep kicked in and deterred me from going to the tippy top of that mountain; ESPECIALLY after I saw those beaches! My goodness, what a beautiful view with the mountains sprinkled with houses in the background!

My day off turned out to be amazing! We went out with Crystal’s old spanish teacher from high school, Johnathan. He moved down here years ago and did an excellent job of showing us around! First stop was Ipanema Beach (of course) Rie and I, the jazz musicians that we are were humming as many bossas on the way over as we could think of. There were stunning views, amazing weather (cooler than I expected.. it is winter), sunshine, and very chilly water!

But out of all these things, take a guess at what I was most excited about… the FOOD that these guys were walking around the beach selling! I couldn’t wait to check it out! Johnathan got us these amazing globo biscotti cookies.. one bag was sweet, and the other salty (perfect!). They were little round airy puffs of crunchy and crackly cookies (not a typical cookie). They were more like an air popped morsel. Of course, we couldn’t just wash these down with water.. that’d be nuts. We had to get the traditional drink, which was lemonade mixed with mate (pr. “maCHa”) tea! These weren’t just Arnold Palmers people.. these were different. The tea was a little spicy. They should be called Adi Palmers. yeah? lol

After the beach and our delectable late afternoon snack we had to go out to dinner for a traditional Brazilian meal. Johnathan hipped us to the dish, feijaoda which black beans (cooked with pork of course) with different kinds of meats that you stir in. It also comes with ribbons of collards, orange slices, fried yuca (could eat those all day) and powdered yuca which looks like sand. It’s the yummiest and the coolest texture! In addition to this we had a huge fish stew and trout with capers. Naturally, I was in a food coma.

I highly recommend where we ate. It’s a place called Casa de Feijaoda in Rio with beautiful people working there and incredible food! Do I dare say quite possibly the best food I’ve had yet this leg? I think I will!

Wanting to explore a little more, (even though our lack of sleep was kicking in big time at this point) we went to downtown Rio and check out Lapa which is where there are a lot of samba clubs and bars. We heard some local live music and learned a little bit of samba moves in the street with Johnathan, Crystal, and Rie!

It was such a blast and I think (I hope!) I got a good dose of what life in Rio is like! For this trip I decided to leave my phone and everything behind, so I’m waiting for Johnathan to email me all of the pictures of the food I took with his phone, and I had to get to a place where I actually had internet. As a matter of fact, I’m backstage right now writing this post. We’re going on in a few hours for Rock in Rio!

I’m excited to share the pictures with you guys in the next post, and looking forward (as always) to partying with you guys tonight at the Mrs Carter Show! We like to partyyyyy.. heyy heyyy heyyyyy

See you in a few RIO!

20130913-195145.jpg

20130913-195200.jpg

20130913-195208.jpg

20130913-195214.jpg

One thought on “Rock in RIO!

  1. Pingback: Rock in Rio anuncia duas novas atrações para compor a Rock Street e a Eletrônica | Revista Eletrönica Null / EMagazine Null

Leave a Reply

