“Ah Rio” Vinaigrette

I’ve been away for the past few days because I’ve been working on something big for “Adi’s Jazz Kitchen” that’ll be posted by tomorrow! In the meantime though, I made a quick vinaigrette last night to top a crunchy spring mix salad with lots of vegetables from my mom’s garden. I was really in the mood for something light, and it just so happened  my boyfriend was practicing in another room, playing the perfect music to accompany me while in the kitchen, Ron Carter’s “Ah Rio”..

“Ah Rio”‘s got such a playful groove that immediately lifts me up, puts a smile on my face, and makes me want to dance. Ironically enough, I have the same reaction to tasting this vinaigrette. There’s no doubt about it. It’s bold, crisp, and lively.. the perfect ingredients for a great jazz recording.

Yield: Serves 2

What you need: 

  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • Juice from 1 lemon
  • salt/pepper to taste

Method:

Whisk all the ingredients together. Toss with salad. (Can be refrigerated and saved for a few days)

IMG_2489IMG_2494

Improvise:

  • Try adding honey instead of agave
  • Throw in finely diced garlic or shallots for more flavor
  • Try another type of vinegar, like white wine vinegar, rather than apple cider vinegar

Hey, speaking of Rio, see you on thursday Brazil!

2 thoughts on ““Ah Rio” Vinaigrette

Leave a Reply

