Lee Morgan. Turkey Tacos. Philly with Beyonce.

Before I head out to Philly with Beyonce for the Made In America Festival,  I wanted to dedicate a post to one of my favorite musicians from Philadelphia, trumpeter Lee Morgan. I also wanted to share with you the recipe for my speedy (and yummy) dinner last night.

This is a video with Lee Morgan and the Oscar Peterson Trio playing “Moanin”. “Moanin” was written by pianist Bobby Timmons and was originally recorded and made famous by drummer Art Blakey. For those who are acquainted to jazz, the beginning of Lee’s solo might sound familiar as it is known by almost every jazz trumpet player today. Morgan was born in Philly on July 10, 1938 and one of the many iconic jazz musicians that hailed from here.

The day before I head out on the road is always a little hectic. Since I don’t spend very much time at my place in Manhattan I’m always trying to get everything in order right before I leave. My boyfriend is heading out today to play as well, so yesterday was a little crazy for us. The day slipped by and I realized that we hadn’t eaten dinner, and it was one of those moments that the hunger just hit me. Quick food was in order. I present to you ground turkey tacos.. Power meal for gig.

What you need: 

  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic crushed then chopped
  • 1/2 medium yellow onion diced
  • 1 1/3 lb ground turkey (I like the lean stuff)
  •  1 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cumin powder
  • 1/4 tbsp cayenne
  • Garnishings: cilantro, avocado, sour cream, lettuce, tomato, black beans, rice, tortilla shells, squeeze of lime. Whatever you want.

In a large saucepan heat olive oil on medium heat. Add garlic and onion. Cook until onion is softened and slightly translucent (3 -4 mins). Add Turkey and brown the edges. Mix in spices and cook until all of the turkey is browned. Season with salt to taste. Scoop into a tortilla shell and garnish however you would like!

Photo-61

Photo-62

Photo-63

Improvise: 

  • Use ground beef or another protein
  • Switch it up with the garnishments

With all of that being said, I’m lookin’ forward to seeing my Mrs Carter Show crew and fans in Philly!

photo-64

-A

One thought on “Lee Morgan. Turkey Tacos. Philly with Beyonce.

Leave a Reply

