Groovin’ with my spatula.. and Michael McDonald

Yesterday was the perfect Sunday for me. I’ve been home in New York for the past few days and have a few more days of vacation left! I’m trying to take advantage of every second that I have with my family and of my 3 feetx 3 feet kitchen (the worst… but a kitchen none the less.. it makes you improvise in a whole new way).

It was the kind of day in which my boyfriend and I had nothing to do except spend time with each other so we had a little fun making some turkey wraps for lunch.. (I know it’s not duck confit… but i’ve been off the cookin scene for a minute.. PLUS as the girls in the band would say.. “Don’t make none of that bougie (sp?) food and make something that tastes good and is simple!” Fellow Mrs Carter Bandigans… this one’s for you. 😉

You’re probably thinking.. what does Michael McDonald have to do with this? In ode to school being back in session within the next few days, and me missing the good ole Jailyard.. We put on “What a fool believes”. This song (believe it or not) was a Juilliard staple for me. While not a jazz song, it was still our jam. This simple and soulful song is going along with the simple and soulful turkey wrap.

Anywho, onto the food.

Yield: 2 servings

What you need:

  • 1 ripe avocado sliced
  • 1 Roma tomato sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 sundried tomato wraps
  • 2 slices of swiss cheese
  • Srichara and Mayo
  • Couple slices of smoked turkey
  • handful of spinach
  • salt/pepper

Simple enough, right? As you should… improvise and fill it with your favorite kind of cheese or turkey or whatever you want. This is just what I had at hand. First thing’s first. Prepare your vegetables, so they’re ready to go. Second up, preheat your oven to 400 degrees F. Next, fry your eggs separately in a small frying pan with a touch of olive oil. I like to leave the yolk a little runny but in this case, this happened:

photo-50

Uhh, what? Never before have I had the yolk actually separate from the white part while mid flip! (I’ve got some flipping skills.. all in the wrist 😉 )

Moving on, set separated egg aside. Place the wrap with cheese and place in oven until melted (a little over a minute). Layer egg. Spread some Srichara sauce in a sguiggly line like so (go ahead, release your inner picasso).

photo-52

Add some mayo too. Layer turkey and rest of ingredients including a pinch of salt and pepper. Easy on the salt, turkey has high sodium. Wrap and enjoy!

photo-51

picstitch

Now that we made our lunch wrap and took silly pictures with it.. Take it away Michael!

So maybe I need to get some lip syncing lessons, but on a brighter note.. Can i get a spatula endorsement over here?

Leave a Reply

